Science museum

In town: the gallery of the science museum “Prismatic” explores color

Lillie-Beth Brinkman

A new exhibit celebrating the science of color is about to open in the Science Museum Oklahoma’s smART Space Gallery.

“Prismatic: A Faceted Experience of Color” opens with a public reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Monday. The reception, which is free but requires reservations, will include two of the exhibit’s contributing artists, Laurie Frick and Sarah Hearn, and a live performance by Gabriel Friedman.

“Prismatic” explores how color can influence opinion, communicate without words and affect the body and its influence on historical and contemporary artists, a press release noted.

Frick, an artist based in Austin, Texas, tells stories using data in large, hand-made patterned wall installations. Hearn is an interdisciplinary artist from Oklahoma, citizen scientist and educator in Kansas City, Missouri. Friedman and his partner Denise Duong recently installed their sculpture The little creator at the Museum. Alyson Atchison is a curator. The show also features New Zealand composer and media artist Jesse Woolston.

To reserve reception tickets, go to


A Chance to Change will honor Susan and Carl Edwards and Debby Hampton at their upcoming annual “Celebrations” event on April 27 at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The event celebrates the progress of people dealing with addiction and mental health issues and raises funds for the nonprofit organization’s free and low-cost services.

The Edwards will receive the 13th Jim McGuinness Award for their combined 43 years of volunteer work with the CCTA. Their commitment to A Chance to Change and their deep passion for addiction and mental health work embodies the spirit of the award and its namesake.

Debby Hampton, President and CEO of United Way of Central Oklahoma, is honored with the first Trail Blazer Award, given to an Oklahoma who advocates for those impacted by mental health and addiction issues while working on innovative change in the community.

For more information, visit

To note

The Oklahoma Hospitality Club recently celebrated “Strong Women! Fort Oklahoma! at its annual Ladies in the News Style Show luncheon. Its winners modeled outfits from J. Jill and Boutique One, and attendees heard from representatives of the Hospitality Club’s 2022 grant recipients – Rayna Forgotson of Curbside Flowers and Jennifer Goodrich of Pivot – A Turning Point for Youth.

Congratulations to the winners: Kitti Asberry, Executive Director, Oklahoma Commission on Women; Clytie Bunyan, Editor-in-Chief for Diversity, Community Engagement and Opinion, Oklahoma; Priscilla Cude, President and CEO, First Bethany Bank & Trust; AJ Griffin, director of government and community affairs, Paycom; Robin Gunn, owner of Main Oklahoma Newspaper; Heather Lunsford, chair of Oklahoma City University’s studio art and design department and director of its Nona Jean Hulsey gallery; Donna Miller, CEO and co-founder of Purse Power; Sarah Rahhal, CEO, Sunbeam Family Services and Registered Social Worker; Kym Koch Thompson, Founder and Director, Koch Communications; and Tara Warren, executive director and founder of Tenaciously Teal.

Do you have an article, an idea or an event for On the Town? Email [email protected]