History museum

Internet Pioneer Leonard Kleinrock Named Fellow of Computer History Museum

Leonard Kleinrock, a distinguished professor of computer science at the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering and a leading figure in the creation of the Internet, has been named a 2022 Fellow of the Computer History Museum.

The museum, located in Mountain View, California, annually selects new fellows who have made “significant and lasting contributions to the advancement of computing and the information age.” He is one of four scholars selected for the class of 2022. Kleinrock has been selected for “his pioneering work on the mathematical theory of computer networks and roles in the ARPANET and in the expansion of the Internet”. The museum will host a gala honoring the new scholars in October.

Since the museum established its Scholars program more than three decades ago, only 88 have been elected Scholars. Kleinrock joins a extensive list of IT luminariesincluding Intel co-founder Gordon Moore, LINUX developer Linus Torvalds, and programming pioneer Grace Hopper, who was its first fellow in 1987. Museum fellows with ties to UCLA include Assistant Professor Alan Kay and elders Vint Cerf, David Patterson and the late Paul Baran.

Kleinrock developed the mathematical theory of data networks, the technology underlying the Internet which he helped bring to life at UCLA in 1969. His research interests include packet-switched networks, packet radio networks , local area networks, broadband networks, mobile computing, peer-to-peer networks, blockchain technology and intelligent software agents.

Among the many awards and honors Kleinrock has received is the National Medal of Science, the nation’s highest scientific honor. He has also received the LM Ericsson Prize, the Marconi Prize, the Okawa Prize, the NAE Charles Stark Draper Prize, the BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Prize, and the UCLA Medal. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and an inaugural member of the Internet Hall of Fame.