Science museum

The Prime Minister has appointed four trustees to the Science Museum Group

Anya Hurlbert

Appointed STEM Administrator

Anya Hurlbert is Professor of Visual Neuroscience and Dean of Advancement at Newcastle University. She co-founded the Newcastle Institute of Neuroscience in 2003, served as its co-director until 2014, and now directs its Center for Transformative Neuroscience. She was a Marshall Scholar and holds degrees in physics, physiology, brain and cognitive science, and medicine from Princeton, Cambridge, MIT, and Harvard, respectively.

Anya’s research interests focus on understanding human vision, in particular color perception and its role in cognition and behavior; his work includes applications in imaging, lighting, visual arts and human health. She has been awarded the Newton Medal (Colour Group GB; 2022) and has delivered numerous named and principal lectures including the Edridge-Green Lecture (The Royal College of Ophthalmologists) and the Richard Gregory Memorial Lecture (Bristol Vision Institute).

Anya speaks and writes extensively on color vision and art, contributes to television and radio programs and has designed several science-based art exhibitions, including an interactive installation at the National Gallery in London. In addition to several international advisory boards, Anya sits on the Scientific Advisory Panel of the National Gallery, where she most recently served as Scientific Trustee, and on the editorial boards of the Journal of Vision and Current Biology, the Board of Trustees of the Vision Sciences Society, and the Rank Prize Funds Optoelectronics Committee.

Baroness Nicky Morgan

Appointed as Senior Leadership Trustee

The Right Honorable Baroness Morgan de Cotes (Nicky Morgan) is a former Conservative cabinet minister who served in the Cabinets of David Cameron and Boris Johnson as Minister for Women and Equalities, Education Secretary and Digital Secretary respectively , Culture, Media and Sports. She also chaired the House of Commons Treasury Select Committee for 2 years. She was MP for Loughborough between 2010 and 2019.

She has also served as Financial Secretary, Economic Secretary, Government Whip and PPS to the Minister for Universities. Before being elected, she worked as a lawyer specializing in mergers and acquisitions.

Nicky is a founding trustee of a mental health charity in Leicestershire. She is now a member of the House of Lords and has a portfolio career with roles in the private and public sectors, including as a non-executive director at Santander UK, the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, the Association of British Insurers, the Great Central Railway plc and Careers & Enterprise Company. Nicky also chairs the Reform Think Tank Advisory Board.

Gregory Radick

Appointed STEM Administrator

Gregory Radick is Professor of History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Leeds. Educated at Rutgers University in New Jersey (where he was born and raised) and then at the University of Cambridge, he has published numerous articles on the history of life and the human sciences since 1800. His book The Simian Tongue: The Long Debate about Animal Language (Chicago, 2007) received the 2010 Suzanne J. Levinson Award from the History of Science Society for best book in the history of life sciences and natural history. His other books include Disputed Inheritance: The Battle over Mendel and the Future of Biology (Chicago, 2023) and, as co-editor, The Cambridge Companion to Darwin (Cambridge, 2003; 2nd edition, 2009). He has been a British Academy and Leverhulme Trust Fellow, and was President of the British Society for the History of Science (2014-16) and the International Society for the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology (2019- 21). He writes and lectures frequently for the general public, and has appeared on BBC Radio 4’s In Our Time and the PBS/National Geographic television series Genius with Stephen Hawking.

Sarah Sands

Appointed as Senior Leadership Trustee

Sarah Sands has had a prominent career in journalism; she edited two newspapers, the Sunday Telegraph and The Evening Standard, and became editor of Radio 4’s Today programme. She currently sits on the board of Channel 4 and the Berkeley Group and is a partner at Hawthorn Advisors. She is a Trustee of Index on Censorship, Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College Cambridge and Goldsmiths College London, and Chair of think tank Bright Blue. She founded the Braemar Science Summit which is in its second year. She was appointed Chair of the G7 Gender Equality Advisory Council in 2021 and is a member of the council under the German Presidency this year. She published a book on monastic lessons, The Interior Silence.

Trustees of the Science Museum Group are unpaid. This appointment was made in accordance with the Cabinet Office Governance Code for Public Appointments. The appointment process is governed by the Public Appointments Commissioner. Under the Code, any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee within the past five years must be disclosed. This is defined to include holding office, speaking in public, making a recordable donation, or running for office.

Baroness Nicky Morgan said she was a legislative candidate and elected MP for the Conservative Party.

Anya Hurlbert, Gregory Radick and Sarah Sands reported no activity.